top of page
Search
elliegunc

September Favourites

I’ll be honest Fall is not my favourite season. If you’re living in Canada autumn lasts for a month. So to do all that cozy, delicious and wholesome stuff you have to be quick.


I know it’s already October and we’re literally a week in… But for now, here are my favourites from last month. Everything from my favourite book to decor.


 

Wellness


Hot Yoga

After a long and very much-needed summer break, I wanted to get back into a routine. I always liked working out however after a break it’s hard to plan a fitness routine. It's easy to say that you'll exercise every day. But I always end up needing a plan. Or I just give up and work out here and there sporadically. So last month I got into hot yoga and so far I love it! Hot yoga is a vigorous form of yoga performed in a warm studio. There are many different types of classes depending on your level -power flow, town mix, flow... I find that infrared heat has therapeutic benefits including detoxification, improving flexibility, reducing muscle stiffness and pain, and decreasing soreness.




Currently reading

I'll be honest I haven't done much reading last month, however, I did start a new book in mid-September if that counts. I am currently reading The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey. The overall concept of the book is the 7 principles that make a person more effective personally and professionally. It's one of those books that challenges you in many ways. So far, I think it's an outstanding book for communication skill development and self-acknowledgement training.


Fall recipes

I love hearty pasta dinners, they are packed with autumnal flavours, and just the type of cozy dishes you want when the weather starts to turn. As the weather cools and fall kicks into high gear, I tend to cook pasta quite often. Pasta dishes are so much fun, you can find amazing creative recipes out there. Plus you can incorporate fall flavours by giving them an autumnal spin and exploring the heartier side. This one pot creamy sun-dried tomato orzo was one of my favourites. It's so easy and delicious which is perfect for weeknights.

Another favourite of mine was the incredibly gooey and soft apple cinnamon roll from Half Baked Harvest. I mean you can't go wrong with apples anyways... If you want to feel warm inside and out this is the recipe you need!


 

Home Must-Haves

While the beautiful mirage of autumn shades naturally occurs outdoors, I love to replicate it in my apartment.

Wreath DIY

You know wreaths are not just for Christmas. I love to welcome guests and friends into my place with a lovely, festive, fall-inspired wreath. Last month I went ahead and made my own wreath. If you're struggling to find materials, art supplies and crafts your best bet would be Michaels.


Fall scent everywhere

Fall is all about lighting candles and incense sticks. These are the best fall-scented candles that smell like sweater weather:


Flowers

I tend to swap from summer flowers to wheat stalks. They’re delicate, golden formed and long-lasting. I like to arrange an armful of tall stalks into a vase, cropping the ends and fluffing the tops, and voilà display that glorious autumnal bouquet.


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page